Concert

Wed
02.
11.
22

MYKKI BLANCO

Irakli Gabelaia
Mykki Blanco continues to evolve. Post-gender and art rapper Mykki Blanco was originally created by her male alias Michael David Quattlebaum Jr. for a Haul video performance. Mykki Blanco, in turn, then founded Riot Grrrl Rap. In it, musical retro influences merge with themes of fashion, street crime and drugs, love and digital life. Quattlebaum's own poetry, painting, preoccupation with communist literature and his past as a drop-out, run-away and go-go boy became conceptually part of an emotionally direct but at the same time abstractly futuristic double identity of a Mykki Blanco.

After several EPs, the debut album Mykki, produced by Woodkid and Jeremiah Meece, was released in 2016 - glamorous art-pop for freaks from the streets. Mykki's early sound blended rave, trap, grunge and punk influences into a swirling pool of experimental hip-hop that celebrated queer and trans experiences.

Nearly five years later, the next official release came in 2021 with "Broken Hearts & Beauty Sleep," a collaboration with producer and multi-instrumentalist FaltyDL that allowed Mykki to create new soundscapes with lush live instrumentation.

Now "Stay Close To Music" is released, an album that continues the path taken. Opener "Pink Diamond Bezel" thrives on flutes and distorted guitars; "Steps" offers the swell of an orchestra and the calming presence of understated, flowing piano; "You Will Find It" features Devendr Barnhart, with woodwinds melding with funky synth bass and trap beats; "Your Feminism Is Not My Feminism," built around the warm warble of a Rhodes piano, strikes back against the weaponization of trans identities; and "Your Life Was A Gift," a collaboration with Diana Gordon and Buck, fuses new wave guitars and trip-hop beats. We're excited to see how Mykki Blanco and band bring the metamorphosis of an art person to the stage.
Wed 02.11.2022   Berlin
Gretchen
Minimum age 16 years.
Standard
Standard
27.50 €
Admission: 19:30 –  Starts at: 20:30 –  How to get there
Payment Methods
Credit Card
Payment in advance
PayPal
Pay now

Concert

Fri
02.
09.
22
Emerged Agency

WU'S JAZZ CLUB ft. KAMAAL WILLIAMS & VERY ...

Kamaal Williams Live Show & Henry Wu DJ Set + Tereza + Alex Barck (Jazzanova)
Ticket Price 27.50 €

DJ-Set

Fri
07.
10.
22
Earth Agency

DJ KRUSH

30th Anniversary Tour 2022 // 11 Years Gretchen
Ticket Price 16.50 €

Konzert

Mi
02.
11.
22

MYKKI BLANCO

Irakli Gabelaia
Post-Gender Explosion

Mykki Blanco entwickelt sich weiter. Die Post-Gender und Kunst-Rapperin Mykki Blanco wurde ursprünglich von ihrem männlichen Alias Michael David Quattlebaum Jr. für eine Haul-Video Performance ins Leben gerufen. Mykki Blanco wiederum gründete dann den Riot-Grrrl-Rap. Quattlebaums eigene Poesie, Malerei und seine Vergangenheit als Drop-Out, Run-Away und Go-Go-Boy wurden konzeptuell Teil einer emotional direkten aber gleichzeitig abstrakt futuristischen Doppelidentität eines Mykki Blanco.

Nach mehreren EPs erschien 2016 das von Woodkid und Jeremiah Meece produziertes Debut Album „Mykki" – glamouröser Art-Pop für Freaks von der Straße. Rave-, Trap-, Grunge- und Punk-Einflüsse vermischt zu einem wirbelnden Pool von experimentellem Hip-Hop, der queere und transsexuelle Erfahrungen feierte.

Fünf Jahre später kam dann 2021 mit „Broken Hearts & Beauty Sleep“ die nächste offizielle Veröffentlichung, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Produzenten und Multiinstrumentalisten FaltyDL entstand und es Mykki ermöglichte, neue Klanglandschaften mit üppiger Live-Instrumentierung zu erschaffen.

Jetzt erscheint mit „Stay Close To Music“ ein Album, das den eingeschlagenen Weg fortsetzt. Der Opener "Pink Diamond Bezel" lebt von Flöten und verzerrten Gitarren; "Steps" bietet das Anschwellen eines Orchesters und die beruhigende Präsenz des zurückhaltend fließenden Pianos; "You Will Find It" mit Devendra Barnhart, bei dem sich Holzbläser mit funkigen Synthie-Bässen und Trap-Beats vereinen; "Your Feminism Is Not My Feminism", baut sich um das warme Trällern eines Rhodes-Pianos herum auf; und "Your Life Was A Gift" verschmilzt New-Wave-Gitarren und Trip-Hop-Beats. Wir sind gespannt, wie Mykki Blanco mit Band die Metamorphose einer Kunstperson auf die Bühne bringt.
Mi 02.11.2022   Berlin
Gretchen
Ab 16 Jahren.
Standard
Standard
27,50 €
Einlass: 19:30 –  Beginn: 20:30 –  Anfahrt
Allgemeine Zahlungsmittel
Kreditkarte
Vorkasse
PayPal
Sofort​überweisung

Konzert

Mi
26.
10.
22
EmergedAgency

BALIMAYA PROJECT

Ticketpreis 22,00 €

DJ-Set

Fr
07.
10.
22
Earth Agency

DJ KRUSH

30th Anniversary Tour 2022 // 11 Years Gretchen
Ticketpreis 16,50 €