Open Air

YARD CONCERT // OUTDOOR
Tue
09.
08.
22

OLICIA

Support: Marijke Florien
©Marlene_Rahmann
Olicía are constantly searching for new ideas in their music, their songs becoming ever new versions, forms and explorations of feelings and life circumstances. The band project of the two multi-instrumentalists Anna-Lucia Rupp and Fama M'Boup creates a completely unique sound cosmos that admits influences but never sees them as mere ingredients. But if there is one fixed point in the Olicía cosmos, it is the way they deal with the voice, and by no means only through the use of loop stations and effects. Both usually write their songs together, take on vocal parts equally and reveal different timbres and an extensive potpourri of different techniques. There are looped vocal snatches that drive the rhythm or decorate the background and that are often indistinguishable from mechanical instruments like synthesizers or percussion. 


Fama M'Boup and Anna-Lucia Rupp currently live in Berlin and Copenhagen with a common base in Dresden. They met there during their music studies and soon after founded the band and their own label o-cetera, on which their debut album is now released after two ep's and countless concerts in the last few years. It was recorded in Berlin's Monoton Studio together with San Francisco-based producer and author Miles Deiaco. Sophie Hunger recently recruited the two of them for the touring band for her current album "Halluzinationen".

The music of her album debut "Liquid Lines" (release date: 1.10.21) is without clear role models or unambiguous predecessors. It moves in the field of tension between human voice, acoustic instruments, free improvisation and the use of modern electronic possibilities. At some point they gave it the genre name "electronic handmade loopjazz". Fragmented, electroid soul, playful, multilingual global pop, the emotion of folk and an approach to improvisation borrowed from jazz within a fixed structure. They unite all these disparate elements in amazingly concise, direct and emotional pop songs. Everything that can be heard on stage is created in the moment, nothing is pre-produced.

FAMA M'BOUP Stimme, DrumPad, Asalato, Klavier, Percussion
ANNA-LUCIA RUPP Stimme, Pocketpiano, Synthsbass, Klavier, Percussion

The show is part of the series "Spotlight".
Funded by:
Musicboard
Tue 09.08.2022   Berlin
Gretchen
Minimum age 16 years.
Standard
Standard
19.80 €
Admission: 19:30 –  Starts at: 20:15 –  How to get there
Payment Methods
Credit Card
Payment in advance
PayPal
Pay now

Open Air

Thu
11.
08.
22
Georgia Gleason

QUEEN QUAIL

feat. Alex Rapp
Ticket Price 19.80 €

Concert

Fri
11.
11.
22
Axel Joseph

PONGO

Ticket Price 22.00 €

Coronakonforme Show

HOFKONZERT // OUTDOOR
Di
09.
08.
22

OLICIA

©Marlene_Rahmann
Olicía sind mit ihrer Musik unablässig auf der Suche nach neuen Ideen, ihre Songs werden dabei zu immer neuen Fassungen, Formen und Erkundungen von Gefühlen und Lebensumständen. Das Bandprojekt der beiden Multiinstrumentalistinnen Anna-Lucia Rupp und Fama M’Boup entwirft einen völlig eigenen Klangkosmos, der Einflüsse zwar zulässt, diese aber nie als bloße Zutat begreift. Wenn es aber einen Fixpunkt im Olicía-Kosmos gibt, dann ist es der Umgang mit der Stimme, und zwar längst nicht nur durch die Verwendung der Loopstations und Effekte. Beide schreiben meist gemeinsam an ihren Songs, übernehmen gleichberechtigt Vocalparts und offenbaren dabei unterschiedliche Klangfarben und ein umfangreiches Potpourri verschiedener Techniken. Es gibt geloopte Stimmfetzen, die den Rhythmus antreiben oder den Background dekorieren und die oft gar nicht von mechanischen Instrumenten, wie Synthesizern oder Percussion zu unterscheiden sind. 


Fama M’Boup und Anna-Lucia Rupp leben derzeit in Berlin und Kopenhagen mit einer gemeinsamen Basis in Dresden. Dort haben sie sich während ihres Musikstudiums kennengelernt und bald darauf die Band und ihr eigenes Label o-cetera gegründet, auf dem nun nach zwei Ep‘s und zahllosen Konzerten in den letzten Jahren ihr Debütalbum erscheint. Aufgenommen wurde es im Berliner Monoton Studio zusammen mit dem aus San Francisco stammenden Produzenten und Autor Miles Deiaco. Sophie Hunger hat die beiden vor Kurzem für die Tourband zu ihrem aktuellen Album „Halluzinationen“ gewonnen.

Die Musik ihres Albumdebüts „Liquid Lines“ (VÖ: 1.10.21) ist ohne klare Vorbilder oder eindeutige Vorgänger. Sie bewegt sich im Spannungsfeld zwischen menschlicher Stimme, akustischen Instrumenten, freier Improvisation und dem Einsatz moderner elektronischer Möglichkeiten. Irgendwann haben sie dem Ganzen den Genrenamen "electronic handmade loopjazz" gegeben. Fragmentierter, elektroider Soul, verspielter, vielsprachiger Global Pop, die Ergriffenheit des Folk und ein dem Jazz entlehnter Ansatz der Improvisation innerhalb einer festen Struktur. All diese disparaten Elemente vereinigen sie in erstaunlich konzisen, direkten und emotionalen Pop Songs. Alles was dabei auf der Bühne zu hören ist, entsteht dabei im Moment, nichts ist vorproduziert.

FAMA M'BOUP Stimme, DrumPad, Asalato, Klavier, Percussion
ANNA-LUCIA RUPP Stimme, Pocketpiano, Synthsbass, Klavier, Percussion

Das Konzert ist Teil der Reihe "Spotlight".
Gefördert von:
Musicboard
Di 09.08.2022   Berlin
Gretchen
Ab 16 Jahren.
Standard
Standard
19,80 €
Einlass: 19:30 –  Beginn: 20:15 –  Anfahrt
Allgemeine Zahlungsmittel
Kreditkarte
Vorkasse
PayPal
Sofort​überweisung

Coronakonforme Show

Mi
27.
07.
22
Carolin Saage

JAMILA & THE OTHER HEROES

Ticketpreis 19,80 €

Coronakonforme Show

Do
11.
08.
22
Georgia Gleason

QUEEN QUAIL

feat. Alex Rapp
Ticketpreis 19,80 €