Concert

Sat
11.
03.
23

SILVAN STRAUSS ENSEMBLE

Gaudenz Strauss
Silvan Strauss revives the art of analog, organic beatmaking.

Hamburg-based drummer, beatmaker and producer Silvan Strauss, whose DIY breaks on Tik Tok have gone wild, is one of Europe's outstanding jazz drummers. With his style he moves effortlessly between the different styles of jazz to contemporary urban sounds.
Born in Kempten, Silvan played drums as a child on everything he could get his hands on. He participated in the Bavarian State Youth Jazz Orchestra, produced his own beats between rehearsals and switched between punk and hip-hop bands until he graduated from school, finally studying at the Hamburg Musikhochschule.

Since then he worked with artists like Maria João, Soweto Kinch, Omer Klein, Guinga, Farhot, Jazzrausch Bigband and Nils Landgren. Strauss incorporates the immense input from all these different projects into his own project Toytoy, where he produces and works with his bandmates on their vision of experimental groove music. In 2021, he was awarded the Hamburg Jazz Prize, an award given by musicians and therefore a very special award.

Now Strauss releases "Facing", his first solo project. Curated together with Kabul Fire Records founder Farhot, the hip-hop/urban-jazz style instrumental album complements the KFR releases in a special way, as Strauss represents the organic and analog side of beatmaking. The tracks on "Facing" are full of intricate patterns, tricky time signatures and complex stylistic fusions while sounding playful, fun, light and accessible.
Sat 11.03.2023   Berlin
Gretchen
Minimum age 16 years.
Early-Bird
Early-Bird
16.50 €
Standard
Standard
19.80 €
Admission: 19:30 –  Starts at: 20:30 –  How to get there
Payment Methods
Credit Card
Payment in advance
PayPal
Pay now

Concert

Thu
16.
02.
23
Allegra Kortlang

DERYA YILDIRIM & GRUP ŞİMŞEK + MALPHINO

Şimşek Night 2: Derya Yıldırım & Grup Şimşek + Malphino + After Show
Ticket Price 16.50 - 22.00 €

Concert

Mon
27.
02.
23
EmergedAgency

ISLANDMAN

Ticket Price 19.80 €

Konzert

Sa
11.
03.
23

SILVAN STRAUSS ENSEMBLE

Gaudenz Strauss
Silvan Strauss lässt die Kunst des analogen und organischen Beatmaking aufleben.

Der Hamburger Schlagzeuger, Beatmaker und Produzent Silvan Strauss, dessen DIY-Breaks auf Tik Tok für Furore sorgen, gehört zu den herausragenden Jazz-Schlagzeugern Europas. Mit seinem Stil bewegt er sich mühelos zwischen den verschiedenen Spielarten des Jazz bis hin zu zeitgenössischen urbanen Klängen.

Geboren in Kempten, spielte Silvan spielte schon als Kind auf allem Schlagzeug, was er in die Finger bekam. Er wirkte im Bayerischen Landesjugendjazzorchester mit, produzierte zwischen den Proben eigene Beats und wechselte bis zum Schulabschluss zwischen Punk- und Hip-Hop-Bands, um schließlich an der Hamburger Musikhochschule zu studieren.

Seitdem ist er in zahlreichen Kollaborationen zu Hause und arbeitete mit Größen wie Maria João, Soweto Kinch, Omer Klein, Guinga, Farhot, Jazzrausch Bigband und Nils Landgren. Den immensen Input aus all den verschiedenen Projekten lässt Strauss in sein eigenes Projekt Toytoy einfließen, wo er produziert und mit seinen Bandkollegen an der Vision von experimenteller Groove-Musik arbeitet. 2021 wurde er mit dem Hamburger Jazzpreis ausgezeichnet, ein Preis, der von Musiker*innen verliehen wird und deshalb eine ganz besondere Auszeichnung darstellt.

Jetzt veröffentlicht Strauss mit „Facing“ sein erstes eigenes Solo-Projekt. Das gemeinsam mit Kabul Fire Records Gründer Farhot kuratierte Instrumentalalbum im HipHop/Urban-Jazz-Stil ergänzt die KFR-Releases auf besondere Weise, denn Strauss repräsentiert die organische und analoge Seite des Beatmaking. Die Tracks von „Facing“ sind anspruchsvoll. Die Komplizierten Muster, kniffligen Taktarten und komplexen stilistischen Fusionen klingen dabei aber verspielt, lustig, leicht und zugänglich.
Sa 11.03.2023   Berlin
Gretchen
Ab 16 Jahren.
Early-Bird
Early-Bird
16,50 €
Standard
Standard
19,80 €
Einlass: 19:30 –  Beginn: 20:30 –  Anfahrt
Allgemeine Zahlungsmittel
Kreditkarte
Vorkasse
PayPal
Sofort​überweisung

Konzert

Sa
18.
02.
23
Tim Saccenti

PLAID

Ticketpreis 16,50 - 22,00 €

Konzert

Sa
04.
03.
23
Handshake Booking

FAADA FREDDY

Ticketpreis 16,50 - 24,20 €